Dell Streak falls to the bottom of the list

Recently, Dell announced the release of their tablet/smartphone, the Dell Streak. As of right now, you can purchase the Streak for $300 with a two year contract with AT&T. What makes this “phone” such a failure? Keep reading.

The Streak has a 5 inch touch screen which isn’t too bad for watching movies and texting but it does make the phone abnormally large and awkward to handle making it bulky for your pocket. On top of that, people do not really know what the Dell Streak actually is. Is it a tablet PC or a smartphone? Well Dell commented saying that it is a phone as well as a tablet PC which can be confusing because some people (including me) believe that the “phone” is too small and thin for it to be considered a tablet.

On a positive note, the Streak uses a 1GHz processor which makes navigating the device quick and easy. However, the Streak runs on a very outdated Android software, Android 1.6, while most smartphones and tablets coming out are running on the latest software, Android 2.2 a.k.a. “froyo”. Having this outdated software powering the Streak it makes so of the newest features for phones impossible for the device to use.

My thoughts on the Streak are mostly negative. If I wanted a tablet, I would look at Apple’s Ipad or Samsung’s newest tablet before looking at this one. It’s too small to be considered a tablet but it’s too big to be a smartphone so I guess we’re stuck in the middle here. Also, the old Android software brings a lot of negativity to the device, if Dell upgraded to Android 2.2, I would recommend it to people but for now, I would say do not get the Dell Streak.

About Techtonicc

I am currently a 21 year old Junior in college majoring in Information Systems assurance and security. I am from Arlington Heights, IL. I love all types of technology so I enjoy my fair share of video games, building/fixing computers, programming, and writing on my tech blog, Techtonicc.

Posted on August 30, 2010, in apple, Cellphone review, computer, technology, techtonicc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Picked up your web blog via google the other day and absolutely adore it. Keep up the excellent work.

  2. Great piece of facts that you’ve obtained on this web site publish. Hope I will get some much more of the stuff in your weblog. I will appear again.

  3. The content on this publish is really a single of the top material that I’ve ever occur across. I love your article, I’ll appear back to verify for new posts.

  4. Thanks because of this! I’ve been searching all above the web for that facts.

Leave a Reply

