The Good and The Bad of Microsoft’s Xbox 360 Update

If you are an owner of a Xbox 360 then chances are that you received the new dashboard update yesterday and had to go to hell and back in order for it to work (most of you).  After a delay on the release of the update which left many users unhappy, the new update was distributed to the 35 million Xbox Live users around the world.  This marked a huge stepping stone for Microsoft but it seems as though there were mixed emotions on it.  However, people were still having trouble with the update as it prevented many users from accessing Xbox Live as you can see in one of my earlier posts.

A Twitter user by the name of “Kelvinwins”  tweeted, “I’m underwhelmed by the Xbox Update,” “Metro design is lovely, but the app selection should have been ready for launch. Just a new skin until then.”

This way just one of the many complaints on the update.  However, not everyone was so picky to the new dashboard.  It seems like there are more people that enjoy the new interface which allows more content to be shown.

“Let me say, I like it. I really do,” an Xbox user going by the handle “PTP Run And Gun” wrote in Microsoft’s official forums. “It’s simplified a lot of things for people but the real treat for me is the ability to add my achievements to Facebook, which is a little similar to the way you can do this with the PlayStation. Basically what I’m saying is that this change is good on the whole but people will always try and resist change no matter the benefits.”

Microsoft announced the “all-new Xbox 360 experience” earlier this week. The update comes with Kinect voice control with Bing search and a new interface.  It also supports professional programming from ESPN, Hulu Plus, Netflix, and others. In the coming weeks and months, content from Comcast, Verizon FiOS TV, HBO Go, and others will be added.  Follow me on Twitter to find out when.

About Techtonicc

I am currently a 21 year old Junior in college majoring in Information Systems assurance and security. I am from Arlington Heights, IL. I love all types of technology so I enjoy my fair share of video games, building/fixing computers, programming, and writing on my tech blog, Techtonicc.

Posted on December 7, 2011, in AT&T, gaming, review, xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

